Who but Him?

Whose gaze other than His can make my body erupt in a symphony of chills, fill me with wonder and awe, and flood my heart with the iridescent light of His love?

Whose words other than His can speak life into the dead places of my heart, proclaim truth where lies have been planted, and call the dead to rise?

Whose friendship other than His can leave a restless heart satisfied, fulfill awaited promises with a steadfast hope, and shatter the veil which guards against intimacy?

Whose heart other than His can be broken for my sufferings, provide a space for me to rest, and burn with infinite love for my lowly soul?

Whose feet other than His can pursue with reckless abandon, provide a vessel for His Saving Blood to anoint us, and traverse a rocky soul to bring mercy and light into darkness and despair?

Whose body other than His is willingly nailed for my broken soul, lays in the arms of death so I might one day rise, and becomes sweet bread and glorious wine so as to gently place His covenantal love within me?

None but He, my soul cries.

Oh, dear heart—there is none but He; and He wants none but thee.

One thought on “Who but Him?

Leave a comment